An Oh!/Oh no! Moment

Scene: In a taxi going to a mall.

People involved in this ridiculous conversation: me and my mom

Poor, innocent bystander who had to hear the whole thing: the taxi driver

Conversation between my mother and I went something like this:

Me: [peering at my mom’s mobile  phone;  said mom is currently browsing her Facebook account] You are friends with [insert local singer’s name]???

Mother: [sounding smug] Yes.

Me: I don’t believe this! You’re now friends with celebrities in Facebook? Since when? When did that happen?

Mother: Oh, I went out a couple of times with some of my friends and she’s a friend of a friend. She’s hung out with us at times. Do you know why she’s separated from her husband?

Me: Why?

Mother: [in a tone that spoke of a world-shattering piece of information] Because said husband is an addict.

Me: Really?

Mother: Yes.

Me: I can’t believer you’re friends with [insert local singer’s name]!

Mother: [amused and smug] Well, you know.

Me: She’s a has-been. You know that. But I still can’t believe you go around befriending celebrities in Facebook! And you’re my mother.

Author: Anna

A 30-something female awed/delighted/floored with anything horror. Known to kick-start her days with coffee. Indulges in chocolates, blogging, writing, and reading. Attracted to the offbeat and the quirky / the odd and the strange / the weird and the eerie.

Leave a Reply

