A Tale of London Below

Mr. Croup: “Were I you, I would no longer worry about the young lady. Her days are numbered, and the number in question isn’t even in double digits.”

I’ve been going through my books during my free time and came across my Neil Gaiman’s books. I only have three of them – Smoke and Mirrors, Fragile Things and Neverwhere. The latter was the first novel of Neil Gaiman that I have ever read. That was when I knew he is one of my favorite authors, carving in a spot right there with Stephen King and Haruki Murakami. I fell in love with  Neverwherebecause it’s quirky and interesting and creepy and twisted in all the right ways, making you wonder what will happen next and what will the ending be.

The story starts off like this: You know that feeling when there’s a storm that’s brewing? The sky is a mixture of gray and bruised blue, the air is thick and heavy and somewhere at the back of your head, there’s the whisper of impending doom. That’s exactly how Neverwhere starts off. One day, the lead character, Richard Mayhew, is on his way to England. The next thing you know, he’s in the middle of a busy life there with a career and a gorgeous fiancee and then BAM! He decides to tend to a girl he’s seen on the streets, unconscious and fragile-looking. His whole world then turns upside-down. The girl doesn’t seem to be from his side of the world. Two men (?creatures?) show up at his doorstep, looking for their so-called missing sister, a mouse is made a messenger, an angel needs to be found, and it turns out there is a London Below.

What is London Below, anyway? Great question but I’m afraid you may have to read the book to know. Someone else will always do a better review than I do, so you can read one right here. Have a happy reading! I’d love to hear from you when you’ve started or finished the book.

Neverwhere
Neverwhere
Author: Anna

A 30-something female awed/delighted/floored with anything horror. Known to kick-start her days with coffee. Indulges in chocolates, blogging, writing, and reading. Attracted to the offbeat and the quirky / the odd and the strange / the weird and the eerie.

Leave a Reply

