“Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark”

My love for the scary things never wavered since I was a child. Books, movies, stories from people I know — I devoured their tales the same way I would devour Sbarro’s baked zitti (white sauce, please!). With gusto.

My favorite horror film to this date is still “Ju-on: The Grudge.” The original Japanese version, mind you. But if we’re talking about the scariest movie I have ever seen, one which turned me into a scared three year-old then it is “The Exorcism of Emily Rose.” I couldn’t be left alone for three days. I still bear the scars I got from watching that film. *shudder*

Right now, I’m looking forward with moderate interest to the horror film “Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark.” It’s the usual house is haunted story but the execution of the movie (for example: the lighting, the angles) caught my attention. And the child being the object of the haunting? Let’s face it. It just adds to the creepiness factor. Think “Insidious” or if you want to go way back, “Child’s Play.”

The movie revolves around a little girl who moves into a new house — sprawling, imposing and old. The little girl then starts to feel and hear things in the house, especially in her room. The story takes off from there. It spirals and escalates into haunting occurrences, making the father’s girlfriend (Katie Holmes) dig deeper into the mystery and history of that house.

If you want to watch the trailer, you can do so here

Author: Anna

A 30-something female awed/delighted/floored with anything horror. Known to kick-start her days with coffee. Indulges in chocolates, blogging, writing, and reading. Attracted to the offbeat and the quirky / the odd and the strange / the weird and the eerie.

One thought on ““Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark””

Leave a Reply

