Fitting a Wedding Into a Single Girl’s Life

This Sunday, I would have to have my gown for the wedding measured. I have no idea yet on what my gown would look like, except that I would need to make sure I at least look passable for a human being.

Four months to go before the wedding. No, no. Not my wedding. My bestfriend’s wedding, the girl I have known ever since I was in high school. The same girl who accidentally sat on a bowl of honey during our group’s presentation for a school subject which I have by now forgotten. But to this day, it remains to be one of my favorite stories to tell. Remind me to not bring up that story on her wedding day.

I have great admiration for brides. Do you know how grueling it is to prepare for a wedding? A church wedding? I ‘ve attended a close friend’s wedding last year and I am still traumatized over it. That was just helping her tie the loose ends the day before she was getting married. And at the end of that day, I had about dropped dead from exhaustion and stress.

I’m the Maid of Honor for this wedding and I’m worried I might not pull off that role. I mean, I’m already worried about watching out for the safety of those around me as I march down that aisle in a gown, lest I trip on my own two feet (me and high heels were really never good friends, in spite of the fact that I am short). How the hell am I supposed to pull of looking after my bestfriend on the day of the wedding itself?

The bachelorette party, that I can handle. With confidence and ease. But I feel like weddings are out of my league. Not that I have aversion to them. It’s just that it feels so strange. Wedding days are romantic and then there I am, The Super Single Girl. Thank God I don’t have an ex-boyfriend on that day that I can run into. It’s going to be so awkward if that was the case.

Author: Anna

A 30-something female awed/delighted/floored with anything horror. Known to kick-start her days with coffee. Indulges in chocolates, blogging, writing, and reading. Attracted to the offbeat and the quirky / the odd and the strange / the weird and the eerie.

Leave a Reply

