Excuse Me, I Fell Down the Rabbit Hole but Now I’m Back

All was not lost when I had momentary (selective *cough, cough*) amnesia, which is my excuse for ignoring this blog the past three — okay, almost four, almost — four months.

Why is that? Why do I claim that all is not lost? Because I have managed to watch a few horror movies, read one horror book and I’m planning to watch more horror films and read one weird book. (I forgot the titles of the other horror films I’ve watched so I mentioned the most recent film I’ve seen. You’ve got to excuse me. My memory isn’t good at past 1 in the morning, apparently.) They are as follows:

Nightmares & Dreamscapes
Nightmares & Dreamscapes

It’s the classic king of horror delivering his usual style of creepy stories that sears into your brain. And haunts you from time to time.

Aswang
Aswang

This is actually a local horror film which surprised me because I was expecting it to be mediocre. But it surpassed my expectations. It’s eerie, it’s funny without trying too hard, it’s well-delivered, and most of all: It showed the story behind the aswangs, a local term for creatures who eat humans and are able to transform into different forms. You can read more about them in this link.

Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories
Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories

This is a book I have yet to read and I am quite excited to read it. I am not a big fan of sci-fi but this one seems like the best way to start getting into it. Here is a snippet of it if you’re interested. I got it from here.

Three independent narratives linked together by the device of a narrator discovering notes left by a deceased relative. Piecing together the whole truth and disturbing significance of the information he possesses, the narrator’s final line is ”The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents.”

Author: Anna

A 30-something female awed/delighted/floored with anything horror. Known to kick-start her days with coffee. Indulges in chocolates, blogging, writing, and reading. Attracted to the offbeat and the quirky / the odd and the strange / the weird and the eerie.

Leave a Reply

