Trending in My Annachronous World

Since I broke up quite recently with Vodka and Vodka’s Friends (those other Hard Drinks), I have been holing up at home during the weekend nights armed with good TV shows and the omnipresent junk food. And so without meandering straight into the innocuous arms of senselessness, here are the two TV shows which recently moved in and took up space in my heart and mind:

American Horror Story
"American Horror Story"

“American Horror Story” – To be honest, the first episode, although haunting and creepy and mysterious, just did not sit well with me. I thought there were too much scenes that weren’t really needed. It wasn’t until I caught up with episode 2 a few weeks ago that I began to gain interest. Clearly, the history of the house and the people who lived there before the Harmons struck the match and lit my interest. Each of the telling and re-telling of the stories of the inhabitants of the so-called murder house is rich with creepiness which sets you on edge and keeps you guessing and thinking. The dark tone of the series is well executed too.

"Modern Family"
"Modern Family"

“Modern Family” – I haven’t really paid much attention to this one until one of my bosses mentioned it. Curious to see if it was as good as I heard, I watched an episode. And found out that I actually like it. It’s hilarious and quirky and it really does hit home when they tackle family issues like accepting a new member of the family, starting a new family, being a wife/mother or husband/son-in-law. My favorite character? I cannot decide. All of them are lovable!

Done with the TV series that are currently keeping my interest, I here are two more books that I want to grab a copy of and read:

"Einstein's Dream"
"Einstein's Dream"

 At every point of decision, the world splits into three worlds, each with the same people, but different fates for those people. In time, there are an infinity of worlds.”  – Alan Lightman, “Einstein’s Dreams”

“Einstein’s Dream” – Tackling the interesting subject of time and space, this book is not the usual when it comes to discussing the theory of relativity. I read snippets of this book and immediately fell in love with the way the words were strung together and the resonance it had. Poetic and haunting and unique, this is one of those books that you cannot help but read and read over and over again.

"American Gods"
"American Gods"

I believe that candy really did taste better when I was a kid, that it’s aerodynamically impossible for a bumblebee to fly, that light is a wave and a particle, that there’s a cat in a box somewhere who’s alive and dead at the same time (although if they don’t ever open the box to feed it it’ll eventually just be two different kinds of dead), and that there are stars in the universe billions of years older than the universe itself. -Neil Gaiman, “American Gods”

“American Gods” – Neil Gaiman has been one of my favorites ever since a great friend of mine (Hi, Jam!) shoved into my hands a copy of “The Sandman” comic book series during my college days. And when I read “Neverwhere” I totally fell for him, hook, line and sinker. I have yet to buy more of his books but so far, the ones I have read never did disappoint me. Clearly, “American Gods” should be included in my To Read list. My dad likes to state that he is not a fan of Neil Gaiman but he still reads and re-reads the books I have of him. Very funny, dad. Who are you kidding?

* image sources: American Horror Story, Modern Family, Einstein’s Dream & American Gods

Author: Anna

A 30-something female awed/delighted/floored with anything horror. Known to kick-start her days with coffee. Indulges in chocolates, blogging, writing, and reading. Attracted to the offbeat and the quirky / the odd and the strange / the weird and the eerie.

Leave a Reply

