I Crawled My Way Back to Reality, You Guys!

I don’t know about you but when I enter a bookstore, I lose track of minutes and hours. I get sucked into a space in time wherein I jump into the tons and tons of books. I check the covers, I read the summary at the back, I move around from shelf to shelf… And then BOOM! A child tugs on the edge of my plain white cotton shirt and insists we go home. I look down at the child (a boy) and blink and blink. And then blink some more.  He’s oblivious to my confusion and so he just says emphatically, with such feeling and impatience, “Mommy, let’s go home.” This is the point wherein bafflement becomes total astonishment. Apparently, I lost track of time and when I heaved myself back to the real world, SURPRISE! I now have a child. Really? I gave birth without knowing about it? Wait, wait. I know this. I have read about this somewhere. This child is genetically engineered. This is NOT my child.

So anyway. Dropping the silliness. I browsed around the bookstore during my lunchtime and found a couple of books to read before I turn 31. I have a year and a few more months to make good that goal statement. Perfect time range!

Without further ramblings, here are my picks for today’s arbitrary trip to the bookstore:

The Cry of the Sloth by Sam Savage
This seems like a fun read.
Angel Time (The Songs of the Seraphim #1) by Anne Rice
I was never a fan of Anne Rice. But this? I think I'm going to like it.
Travels in the Scriptorium by Paul Auster
Surreality. Mystery. Nothing ordinary. Need I say more why I am drawn to this?
Danger in the Dark (Stories from the Golden Age) by L. Ron Hubbard
Sci-fi... Something new for me. I never was into sci-fi but this seemed like a good book to start with.
The Crossroads by L. Ron Hubbard
This one seems like a good read, too. After reading the back cover, I was completely intrigued.
Author: Anna

A 30-something female awed/delighted/floored with anything horror. Known to kick-start her days with coffee. Indulges in chocolates, blogging, writing, and reading. Attracted to the offbeat and the quirky / the odd and the strange / the weird and the eerie.

2 thoughts on “I Crawled My Way Back to Reality, You Guys!”

Leave a Reply

