To Quote Stephen King: “Full Dark, No Stars”

Early Monday Morning
Early Morning, Good Morning!

5:25 a.m. I shuffle my tiny feet and get off the jeepney. I then start my short, nondescript journey towards McDonald’s. The sun has not yet risen. The air is brisk and a bit cool.

5:28 a.m.  Inside McDonald’s, everything is bright and I could count with one hand the number of people eating in the outdoor area.

5:32 a.m. I head back outside and then proceed to my brief trek towards the office.

5:58 a.m. The packets of sugar and creamer are on my desk. I pause in the middle of pouring the first sugar. Should I go ahead and put all three or limit myself to two? I dump all three. I have sweet tooth. Why throw caution to the wind?

This short trip from my house to McDonald’s to the office still has me feeling that something is off. The things around me seemed like versions of themselves in an alternate universe. The roads were not clogged with public utility vehicles and private automobiles. The church area was not teeming with people. And as I walked to and from McDonald’s, it was dark and quiet. Everything was just hushed. It’s unsettling and believe it or not, it got me worried. Worried for reasons I don’t know. Like I said, it’s probably the feeling of being off. Like someone pulled the rug from underneath my feet and I when I landed on my butt, I looked around only to find that all the things I held familiar weren’t so familiar anymore.

image source: “Dawn” by Niznoz

Author: Anna

A 30-something female awed/delighted/floored with anything horror. Known to kick-start her days with coffee. Indulges in chocolates, blogging, writing, and reading. Attracted to the offbeat and the quirky / the odd and the strange / the weird and the eerie.

Leave a Reply

