No Time to Blink

crazy
And then the crazy man came and everything happened so fast. I didn't even have the time to blink.

Note: This happened last week but it left me traumatized. I absolutely cannot stand within the perimeter of that spot (where it happened) without looking around, paranoid that he is going to pop up out of thin air and then there would be a repeat of what happened.

After having just crossed the highway at half past five in the morning, I breathed a sigh of relief and uttered a quick but heartfelt thank you prayer. I was still alive! All my body parts are still intact!

And so I stood there on the side of the road, waiting for a jeepney to arrive. Then in the corner of my eye, I saw a man heading my direction. I glanced to my right and saw a couple of other people around. A glance to my left and I noticed that the man was crazy. Had loose screws in his head. He looked disheveled and filthy. And he was talking to himself. Angrily. With even angrier gestures. I couldn’t understand what he was ranting about but I could hear curse words every two seconds.

As the man drew nearer, I stepped away casually, plucking myself out of his path. I don’t know about you, but I wouldn’t want to mess with a crazy, angry man.

So I stayed away. He got nearer. And then suddenly… BAM! That crazy man smacked me at the back of my head, calling me names. He was VERY angry. I think my jaw dropped, literally. It dropped at the same time I saw stars dancing before my eyes, to the beat of the honking automobile horns. Right after the rush of sudden pain was annoyance. And then annoyance quickly turned to anger. I thought of hitting him with my bag (a rather large one filled with non-office related stuff). But then after that, what? You cannot get into a fight with a crazy person. Especially one who has the tendency to get physical.

And what about the other people near me? Apparently, I couldn’t turn to them for help. They witnessed the whole thing and yet no one dared to move. I was on my own.

Before I could react any further, the crazy man stepped into the highway and then crossed the road without so much as a glance to the oncoming speeding vehicles. He was absolutely crazy. He could’ve gotten killed!

But he didn’t. No such drama ensued. He got safely to the other side of the highway. Clearly, God has a soft spot for the crazy ones.

As for me, days and days later, I am still on my toes whenever I stand on the same spot where I was smacked on the head.

image source: Kevin Dooley

Author: Anna

A 30-something female awed/delighted/floored with anything horror. Known to kick-start her days with coffee. Indulges in chocolates, blogging, writing, and reading. Attracted to the offbeat and the quirky / the odd and the strange / the weird and the eerie.

Leave a Reply

